3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 29, 2013 6:55 AM by jbante

Different types of objects

pontus.bergoo@mejsla.se

Hi,

I am new to FileMaker and are exploring FileMaker Pro 12. I am trying to create a questionnaire with questions that could be answered with different types of answers. It could be text fields, numeric fields or alternate buttons depending on the question. I imaginded that it could be solved by a table with different types of answers and conditionally show or hide objects depending on the type. But I can not find a way to solve that. Any ideas?

As I understand it the Instant Web Publishing has some limitations. If I manage to solve the issue above for clients, will it also work with IWP?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Different types of objects
          jbante

I'm presuming that you're talking about creating a table where each record represents an answer to a question, like an EAV model. Correct me if I misunderstand. One possible solution would be to design the questionnaire so that there's only ever one question in view at a time (form view), then switch to different layouts for each question, where each different layout displays the input field using a different control style (free text entry, pop-up, drop-down, radio buttons, checkboxes, etc.). This approach would translate well to IWP.

• 2. Re: Different types of objects
            pontus.bergoo@mejsla.se

Thanks,

You are right, I imagine a table where each row represents a question and a type of answer. Your proposal sounds like a path to explore. I read in some discussions about conditional formatting and that it should be possible to hide or show objects. But I could not find such alternatives anywhere. Do anyone know anything about that.

• 3. Re: Different types of objects
              jbante