6 Replies Latest reply on May 23, 2013 9:56 AM by dogden

Looking for a way to "portal into portals"

dogden

Currently I have Tables A,B,C, and join tables AB and AC. I know that you cannot directly portal into another portal. I am trying to show data on C from A which i can do through the join table AC. The trick is Table B has a portal showing data from AB, and I want to call out a report/ table key on C and have the full portal from AB show on table C, Not just the Key. I have looked through Technet and didn't find a way to do this. I am pretty new to FM and the built-in help has alot to be desired.

Thank you in advance,

Damon

• 1. Re: Looking for a way to "portal into portals"
          DrewTenenholz

Damon --

Welcome to TechNet and FIleMaker!  May I suggest you rewrite your description in less computer-ese and more fucntion-ese.  What are tables A, B, C and what are you trying to achieve?  There are a couple of ways to get something like what I think you are describing, but let's be clear on what you want before going further.

E.g. A is companies, B is people (at a specific company), and C is sales opportunities (with a person; implying a company link as well).  I want to show from the company view what opportunities exist in a portal with the name of the person at the company who is the contact for that opportunity next to the opportunity description.

The above is doable in several ways.  It is probably not your exact question, so please send in what you want to do.

-- Drew Tenenholz

• 2. Re: Looking for a way to "portal into portals"
            FileKraft

Hi Damon,

you can display a portal in a portal. but you might get accummulated data from C into a calculation field in B.

Depending how you want to represent this you can use a repeating calculation field or the list function at least to display the data.

Good luck.

Uli

• 3. Re: Looking for a way to "portal into portals"
              DavidZakary