5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 3, 2013 1:48 PM by mbrewer76

I need help creating a very basic asset inventory

mbrewer76

I've been trying to create a basic asset inventory (I'm new to Filemaker by the way) for my school to keep track of their assets using a ipads and a barcose scanner. For some reason the records are not saving when i close the database using filemaker server 12 and open it in filemaker pro advanced 12 to edit, I have all the fields saving record changes automatically.

PLEASE HELP!

I create a new DB, with the following fields

Buildings = drop down

Room =Test

type =drop Down

Manufacturers = Drop down

Model =text

Serial# =text

New asset =text

Notes =text

Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: I need help creating a very basic asset inventory
          timcimbura

There could be a lot of things incorrectly setup here. We'd need to know a lot more about your setup in order to troubleshoot what might be wrong. Do you have FileMaker server setup? On what kind of computer? Permissions on the files? How are you transferring the file to your iPad or connecting to the server if you have one? etc. It could be difficult for you to describe it all here.

There should be no need to close the database with FileMaker Server 12 in order to open the database to edit it. You can edit the database while it is being hosted live...and in the situation described here.

I'd suggest that you find a developer to take some time with a remote screen sharing session to look at your setup and give you a few pointers. It's something that might only take a few minutes but will save you a lot of time and frustration in trying to explain it via text. (By the way...we provide that kind of assistance all the time...but any good developer should be able to help you out.)

Hope that helps!

Tim

• 2. Re: I need help creating a very basic asset inventory
            mbrewer76