2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 6, 2013 1:34 AM by cgallardo

When / how  to use a self join?

cgallardo

Hi,

I am playing around with a self join table. Can you please have a look at my table design and advise if I have done it properly or if you have suggestions?

This is for people sigining in and out of a building. Then if there is a fire or a fire drill, an Ipad with filemaker go is used as an attendance roll to ensure all occupants have left the building.

The database is hosted in a remote server, data is accessed via an Ipad with 3G (so if there is a disaster data can still be accessed).

Signing in and out will be done by another ipad or desktop (have not figured this out yet) secured to a wall.

I used a self join table so that I could display the data in portal. I have never used a self join before.

I created the ROLL CALL DAYS table just so I could have extra data on the layout that runs the attendance roll. I do not neet to save historical data.

My concern is that I may not be using the self join table properly. As far as the operation goes it does what is expected, but I am concerned that later if they want data to be saved it will make it difficult to change.

Should I break it in to multipletables instead? i.e. TODAY (holds the day's attendance roll), PEOPLE (holds people names and visitor/staff flag). Where would I save the time in and out, and InOut fields?

Database Design.JPG

• 1. Re: When / how  to use a self join?
          LyndsayHowarth

I am not entirely sure what your TODAY 2 is for...

I really don't think you need the ROLL Call Days either.

If you have the TODAY table and change it's name to ROLLCALL (just add the date fields in it) or similar.... you can have direct relationships with the PEOPLE to be able to add their clock in and out events.... in the ROLLCALL table.