3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 9, 2013 6:48 AM by LyndsayHowarth

Need help with relationships with 3rd table.

marksanchez

Hello Technet community,

My name Mark and I am a wedding photographer, last year I put together a basic DB on filemaker which has 2 tables (customers and invoices) I learned about relationships and I was able to make it work (basic setup). Now I got really into filemaker and want it to make couple of changes in my data base but I feel there are somethings beyond my knowledge (many to many tables). I will try to describe as detail as possible what I am trying to do, and any help will be greatly appreciated.

1.My previous Customers table had 3 contacts in each record (bride, groom and any mom or dad), which I recently figured that was a bad choice. Also the project info was in the same table so 3 contacts plus project info in each customer table. Then I realize that each customer could only have one project and if they wanted any other session of photography(which it happen) I could only creatte a different invoice but not a project. Also the 3 contacts were seen as one contact and could not have independent projects.

Solutions

a.- I created a projects table now I can create multiple projects on each customer (basic one to many relationship)

b.- I make each customer only show only one contact and re import the other 2 contacts as new customers with their new IDs.

Now each customer has only one contact and the project is in a different table so each customers could have multiple projects.

The help!!

*Now my question is this