1 2 Previous Next 28 Replies Latest reply on Jun 24, 2013 3:17 PM by disabled_jackrodgers

add user to running database?

tunghua

I am new to filemaker and this developer community, still have a lot of stupid questions, please help.

Today I found that I can create different user to use database, and give them different privilege, this is very helpful for my case, but there is one thing I can not understand. It looks like I can only change this security setting at the time I design the database. But say if I have a database up and running on filemaker server already, the whole company is using it alrdady, and one day there is a new employee, I have to add a new user to the database, how can I do that, do I have to ask everyone to close file, then I can download that running database, then add a user, then upload that database to the server again? I believe there should be a better way but I just can not find out.

Thanks a lot for your answer.

Tunghua Tai, from Taiwan, Aisa.

• 1. Re: add user to running database?
          AlanStirling

Hi Tunghua

If I remember correctly, this was the case with very early versions of FileMaker, but not with the more recent versions. Which version are you using?

Bet wishes - Alan Stirling, London UK.

• 2. Re: add user to running database?

The simplest method to discover how is to try it...

If you a [Full Access] user, then open File: Security and proceed to add a new account. It works even while the server is serving the file.

What you do NOT want to do is to modify privileges on an open database since that might cause a  lot of confusion.

You can add, delete and modify accounts while the server is serving. Is it a good idea?

You can script the changing of the account in your open Pro file, or even revisions to accounts. Again, try not to make such changes to an account that is active and working with your file.