4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 18, 2013 12:12 PM by terencetcm

Retrieve data from one portal to another portal?

terencetcm

Hello,

I'm new in Filemaker database. I have created a database to manage custom formulation of products. The database contains many tables, such as ingredients, customers, invoices, formulation. Formulation table contains a protal which showing records of specific 'formulation name' with many ingredients in it. When a customer ordering that particular formulation which most likely will add or subtract some of the ingredients already input in the 'Formulation table'. In the customer order table/layout, I would like to first retrieve all the ingredients from the portal of 'formulation table' layout and input into a new portal in the customer order table layout, then from there, I can add or delete specific ingredient, and finally base on the final ingredients listed in the portal in the customer order table, calculated the cost of that custom formulation and send out invoice.

Can you show me how to do it?

Thanks,

Terence

• 1. Re: Retrieve data from one portal to another portal?
          taylorsharpe

There are a number of ways to do this from manually jumping from portal to portal and maybe including a layout change in there if the portal is in another layout.  This is VERY slow because user interface changes are notoriously slow in FileMaker. 

Another way is to go to a layout based on the items in the portal and find those records in the portal, export them, and then go to the new portal and import them.  But exporting and importing is always messy and often leaves behind a file on your computer that you don't want or maybe has confidential information.