6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 16, 2013 3:09 AM by erolst

automatically calculate rent between dates

maurice2307

Dear forum members,

As a very new member (today actually) I am so bold to launch a challenge I am facing.

I am a real estate agent on the Costa Blanca in Spain. For several owners, we run a total of 11 real estate properties which are rented out to holidaymakers.

Each property has different rental rates (which are per week), divided over different periods.

Example:

property rent x week valid from valid to

001 830,= 01-01-2014 31-03-2014

001 950,= 01-04-2014 30-06-2014

001 1200,= 01-07-2014 15-09-2014

002 550,= 01-01-2014 30-06-2014

003 750,= 31-03-2014 15-10-2014

etc.

How can I let Filemaker automatically calculate the rent for any given property between certain dates.

Example:

calculate the rent for property 001 from 22-02-2014 until 03-03-2014.

The way I do this now is to determine in which bracket the rent is (in this example it's 830,=/week).

I then divide the rent by 7 (=rent/day) and then multiply by 9 days = 1067,14.

Any tips and suggestions are appreciated.

Kind regards,

Maurice

• 1. Re: automatically calculate rent between dates
          erolst

Hello Maurice, and welcome –

The way I do this now is to determine in which bracket the rent is (in this example it's 830,=/week).

I then divide the rent by 7 (=rent/day) and then multiply by 9 days = 1067,14.

I had just written an elaborate explanation, when I realized that setting up a small sample database would have taken less time; so I decided to do both.

You'll find the explanation inside the database. Don't hesitate to ask if anything is unclear, or you need more information.

• 2. Re: automatically calculate rent between dates
            maurice2307

Wow, I am amazed.

Instead of just giving me an answer you built me a whole app!

I shall indeed study it carefully and revert back to you in case of anything being unclear.

Thank you VERY much ;-))