3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 17, 2013 9:05 AM by dnfmptn

Related records goof, linking existing records

dnfmptn

Hi all;

Database novice here, please don't flame me. I searched forums for these terms and didn't find relevant results.

I have a database with a handful of tables for tracking contacts in a business context. Person and Company are two of the tables. It turns out in this industry people often work for multiple companies which I didn't realize setting up the db.

So I deleted the companyID-personID relationship and set up a join table so multiple people can be from multiple companies.

And then all the company relations to persons were gone.

Experienced users probably saw that coming!

Anyway, now I have a company portal on the person layout and if I enter a company name it creates a new company record.

What I need to do and can't figure out is

1) how to link existing or new person records to their existing company records, or

2) how to recover the earlier relationships.

Thanks!

dave

• 1. Re: Related records goof, linking existing records
          Mike_Mitchell

Hello, Dave.

Not to worry; we're very newbie-friendly here. No flames.   

Okay, I've worked up a brief example file (see attached) that should help illustrate the situation (assuming I've understood it correctly). You need to move the companyID from the Person record onto a corresponding join table record. Take a look at the Person Entry layout. This shows the difference between the companyID field stored on the Person record and the portal to the join table.

Now, to fix the old relationships, take a look at the Join layout. I've included the person::companyID field on that layout. In order to create join records, here's what you can do:

1) Do a Find on a layout pointing to the Person table. Locate all the records you need to create new join records for. (It may be all the Person records, in which case, just do a Find All.)