12 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2013 10:00 PM by chefportal

Optimal ERD / Design

chefportal

Hi All

I am still very new to FileMaker and am stumped for an optimal ERD / Design for a product that can have many variances but is still the same product and stocked by many suppliers.

Eg: Yellow Widget ( Made By Widget Co ) can be purchased 1 x 50g or box of 10 x 50g or 100 x 50g all with their own UPC Number, Also the preferred order qty and supplier can be set.

When you place an order a dropdown list shows with preferred order on top with the other options below.

Eg: I usually order 10 x 50g so the list will show ( 10 x 50g first then 1 x 50g then 100 x 50g)

Any advice would be appreciated

• 1. Re: Optimal ERD / Design
          Mike_Mitchell

How do you establish the "preferred" option? Is it based on that user's settings? The number of orders placed against that option? The developer's preference?

Mike

• 2. Re: Optimal ERD / Design
            chefportal

Hi Mike,

Preferred option will be setup in product and supplier layouts.

Eg:   When you create a product record you can attach suppliers to it, say "Cheep Widgets Co" and "Supper Cheep Widgets Co" a check box can be clicked on “Cheep Widget Co”, and it will become preferred supplier. I have a handle on that, but not so sure how to setup the product tables. As same products can be purchased in many sizes, I am not sure how to work around this. Should I have a product table with product name and description  info and another with individual product data like the size and UPC number. The product/supplier table will have the price.

BTW thank you for advice an vanishing field the portal option worked like a treat!

• 3. Re: Optimal ERD / Design
              Mike_Mitchell