drew

Newbie Questions

Discussion created by drew on Aug 25, 2013
Latest reply on Aug 30, 2013 by drew

I am a solo healthcare provider and am interested in developing a solution for my practice to help in managing patients. I am new to FMP (despite having joined this community many, many months ago, I have not started developing a solution until now) and have (4) questions:

1. Contact table(s) – In my practice there are three types of contacts that form the type of relationships in my practice: (a) patients; (b) healthcare providers, and; (c) other contacts (e.g., insurance agent, printer, landlord, etc.). Would it be wiser to have three contact tables, or one contact table with a field for 'contact type' to differentiate the various types of contacts? What would the pro/con of either method be? What is the advantages/disadvantages of having one contact table vs. three?

2. Healthcare Measures – In my practice, I have patients fill out various paper/pencil healthcare measures (e.g., pain, sleep, mood, etc.). Eventually, I would like to substitute paper-based measures with something on an iPad or even through a secure web portal. I want to track this data and graph it as well. Currently I use a spreadsheet. Would it be better to have one table of all the healthcare measures (and then simply pull which data fields I need in a given view), or one table per healthcare measure?