9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 3, 2013 9:44 AM by steverigell

Runtime app craziness

steverigell

After deleting all the layouts I did not want to include in a runtime version of my app and also deleting all the records in the database, I compiled a runtime version that contained unexpectedly contained artifacts of both records and layouts that had been deleted. How can I make sure these remnants of development are excluded?

Using FMPro12Adv on an Intel Core Duo PowerBook Pro

-S

• 1. Re: Runtime app craziness
          wimdecorte

Can you give an example of what those remnants look like?

• 2. Re: Runtime app craziness
            steverigell

Here's a bit more information. I'm new to the runtime aspect of FM, so let me know if more information is needed. When I compile FM generates two files, one with a .app extension and one with a .fmp extension which I specified when selecting options for the runtime version.

When I try to open the .app file all I get is a blank screen with no menues or records whatsoever.

When I open the .fmp file, it opens to the a layout that had been deleted prior to the compile. For example, I had experimented with an iPad layout, but am only compiling for Desktop at this time, so had deleted the iPad layout so as to avoid confusing Desktop users. The .fmp file opens to the iPad layout and it contains a record with data that had also been deleted prior to the compile.

In fact, the full menu of layouts is still showing up in the layout dropdown, even though in the version I compiled from, they were deleted. I was a little shocked to find that FM had automatically created a new layout for every unique record identifier I had creates from my linked tables. I've deleted all these in my working file, but they keep showing up again when I compile the runtime.

HTH,

-S

• 3. Re: Runtime app craziness
              steverigell

Update-

This just keeps getting stranger.