8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 11, 2013 10:16 PM by chefportal

Field Length Test

chefportal

Hi All,

I'm still very new to FileMaker and am having trouble working out how to use scriptTriggers to test field length and then tab to bext field.

My problem is this: I have a registration key that is made up of 6 fields which need 3 characters in each then tab to the next field when character count = 3.

I thought a script like this "If Length (FIELD NAME) = 3 Go to next field" and have an on modify trigger would work. I asume there needs to be a loop to test the value but not sure.

Any help would be appreciated.

Mark

• 1. Re: Field Length Test
          PeterWindle

Close, you should do a script trigger based on object keystroke. The test on length is ok. No loop required.

• 2. Re: Field Length Test
            chefportal

Hi Peter,

Thanks for the help, I have set the trigger to onKeyStroke and the script "If [Length (Get ( ScriptParameter )) = 3] Go to Next Field  End If ( I set the parameter to "Set1" "Set2" ect....

But still doesn't tab to next field when more than 3 characters are typed, am I mising something?

Mark

• 3. Re: Field Length Test
              PeterWindle

how about onkeystroke :

if(

lenght(table::field)>3)

Goto next field

just don't do the script trigger on the last field, it will loop infinitely

see attached file

• 4. Re: Field Length Test
                jbante

OnObjectKeystroke is one possibility, but your original idea of using OnObjectModify is fine, too.

You've got the right idea, but if you implement it the way you've written it, you'll have to use a separate script for each field. If you can write the script so that it will work with whatever field you happen to be in, you can use the same script with all 6 of your registration key fields. The Get ( ActiveFieldContents ) function is great for this:

If [not TriggersAreActive]

Exit Script [True]

End If

If [Length ( Get ( ActiveFieldContents ) ) ≥ 3]

Go to Next Field

End If