8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 18, 2013 9:35 AM by petropix

How to create invoice from multiple 'product' tables?

petropix

Hello:

I'm new to FM-Pro, but have a reasonably good grasp of the interface/lay-out/tables/fields and relationships. Rather enchanted with over-all intuitive feel of the program. But I'm stuck :-).

I'm working with Starter Solution template: INVOICES.

The invoice creation lay-out (invoice detail) draws from the portal 'Invoice Data' which subsequently draws from the master table Products. (Line Item) All is fine. However, I've got three other distinct 'PRODUCT' tables which I want to tie into this layout. I've tried duplicating the 'Invoice Data' portal , adding relevant fields from other Product table, and making the relationship. However, the calculation (sub-total/Grand total etc. breaks down -- does not even corrolate/show.

In other words, Can I have "Line Items" representing different tables (products/items) and do a single invoice calculation accordingly? Or, how does one relate different PRODUCT tables to a single invoice creation lay-out?

Sorry if this sounds convoluted.

Help anyone?

thanks.

t.

• 1. Re: How to create invoice from multiple 'product' tables?
          PSI

You can use the Lookup () Function to lookup from various table.

Assuming your link is on the SKU or item code set the fiels Price, description etc. to auto-enter a cacluated value something like...

Case (

not IsEmpty ( lineitems|Product1::SKU ); Lookup ( lineitems|Product1::description );

not IsEmpty ( lineitems|Product2::SKU ); Lookup ( lineitems|Product2::description );

not IsEmpty ( lineitems|Product3::SKU ); Lookup ( lineitems|Product3::description ))

Make Sense?

John Morina

Pueblo Systems, Inc.

• 2. Re: How to create invoice from multiple 'product' tables?
            petropix