In the help - using developer utilities section it says "the text version of custom functions is removed".
I understand all of the items in this section except this line.. can anyone clarify?
Where are you reading this? What document? What does the rest of paragrah say?
"In the help" means in the filemaker help system.
6th bullet fgrom the bottom
To remove Admin access to a database:
Close all of your database files that you are going to customize.
Choose Tools menu > Developer Utilities.
If you have used the Developer Utilities on the same database before and saved your settings, click Load Settings.
Click Add to locate the files that you want to customize.
If you add multiple files, double-click a file in the list to specify the primary file.
Select Developer Utilities settings as required. See Setting up files for developer solutions (FileMaker Pro Advanced).
For Solution Options, click Specify. See Specifying options for developer solutions (FileMaker Pro Advanced).
Select Remove admin access from files permanently and click OK.
This prevents users from altering the design and structure of your database files and from changing any accounts or privileges that you’ve set up.
When the Remove admin access from files permanently option is enabled:
Users can’t access these dialog boxes: Manage Database, Manage External Data Sources, Manage Custom Functions, and most of Manage Security.
The text version of custom functions is removed.
Users can access the Extended Privileges tab in Manage Security if their account has the Manage extended privileges option enabled.
Users can access the dialog boxes listed above if they run a script with the Run script with full access privileges option enabled.
Users can access Layout mode and the Manage Scripts feature if the privilege set assigned to their account permits it.
All database files must have at least one active account or they can’t be opened. You can’t use the Remove admin access from files permanently option if the accounts with Full Access privilege sets are the only active accounts in the file. If you attempt to do so, you will receive an error message.
Consider the long-term needs of your users when defining access privileges. Communicate their access privileges to them clearly in the About layout and follow the rules specified by FileMaker. For more information, see Documenting developer solutions (FileMaker Pro Advanced).
When removing the ability to modify a file the text representation of every custom function and calculation (usually containing comments and/or custom formatting) is removed. The byte code of these functions and calculations (a kind of "precompiled" version thereof) is sufficient for FileMaker to work.
Once the text representation is removed, you can't edit the file anymore.
All calculations are 'tokenized' for faster running in FMP. Its kind of like precompiling the calculation for speed. What you see and edit is the Text representation of what gets tokenized. Once its tokenized the Text part can be removed without effecting the ability to run the code. Its just no longer editable.
thanks to both for the clarity
Retrieving data ...