8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 24, 2013 6:25 AM by memanic

lookups on repeating fields

memanic

Help! I am a newbie to FM although I usedit many years ago. I have a problem I need help with:

I work with a non-profit food pantry. I am trying to design in FM 10 Pro a data entry form for donations that will lookup the value of each item, copy it into the value field and then calculate the total value. For instance, I receive 3 cans of peas. I want to be able to type in "peas, canned" in the item description and "3" in the # field. I want it to lookup the value, multiply x # and put the result in an "EXT" I have already created a separate table with "food name" and "food value." I can get it to work for a single entry, but I want a total list of everything from that person so that I can total it. I have tried repeating fields, no luck; also tried portals It seems so straightforward, but I can't figure it out. Also, we accept clothing which entails the same problem. Please help someone!!!

• 1. Re: lookups on repeating fields
          Stephen Huston

I took your file and added a realted table for donation line items, then created a portal area on the donation form for entering and viewing them. Zipped new file attached.

I hope this helps you get started with related portal items, which are far superior to repeating fields for almost everything.

You will need to add some fields to the Donation_Items table, and set the lookups there.

I hope this helps you get started.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: lookups on repeating fields
            memanic