6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 17, 2014 2:44 AM by dnfmptn

Line item count and page numbers

dnfmptn

Hi all, noob here.

I've built a useful inventory database, with each item of inventory as a record.

1) Using sub- and grand-summaries I have a Layout with Quantity, Description, Cost of item fields displayed.

Thus, if I have 5 widgets and 3 thingies, there are two lines in the layout for these 8 records, plus the leading and trailing summary headers and footers.

What I need is a count of the lines, in this example, 2. That way I can have a text block in the header with "8 units of 2 kinds".

But I don't know what to call this. I've tried entering a variety of Symbols, tried to define a Field to count the lines and insert a Merge Field but the results are either zero or total number of records, 8 in this example. What is this called?

2) In the Footer I've inserted the Page Number Symbol but would also like to have a page count, or total number of pages, so it reads "Page 2 of 96" for example. Haven't been able to find what that's called either.

Thanks for any tips, try to keep it simple since I'm just refreshing my database knowledge and not an advanced user.

dave

• 1. Re: Line item count and page numbers
          erolst

Just to be clear on this: you have articles A, B, D, E, and H (each with a specific quantity), which are "Widgets", and C, F, and G (again each with its own quantity), which are "Doodads" – let's call these "Categories" (kinds) – and your sub-summary is broken by category. Correct so far?

• 2. Re: Line item count and page numbers
            Stephen Huston

Re the page count:

The total page count number needs to be scripted using either a $$mergeVariable or a global number field to store the captured value:

1. Enter Preview mode
            2. Got to Record/Page [Last]
            3. Set Field /or/ Set Variable [ by calculation: Get (PageNumber) ]
            4. Enter Browse mode