7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 24, 2013 12:05 AM by ozgobo

12.0.5 update appears successful, but FMP is still at 12.0.4

ozgobo

Hi All,

A newbie to FMPro, upgrading from Bento 4 which I loved. Interesting given I'm an MS SQL DBA. Anyway, that isn't important. I've just run the updater for 12.0.5 and the routine completes and displays a success message but when I run FMP its still claiming to be at 12.0.4. Just to be sure, I did the check updates thing again and sure enough it tells me there is an update to 12.0.5 available. I've also checked the file version in Applications/FileMaker Pro 12 and its at 12.0.4. Just to make sure I wasn't going insane, I also ran the updater again with the same result.

Sorry if this has been posted before.

Cheers and thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: 12.0.5 update appears successful, but FMP is still at 12.0.4
          taylorsharpe

Welcome to the world of FileMaker.  It is very different than MS SQL, but they can also compliment each other very well too. 

When you run the updater, you need to restart the computer.  After the restart, if you click about FileMaker, it will show 12.0v5.  If it is still showing v4, then the updater either did not work or, possilby, it updated another instance of the FileMaker application either elsewhere on that drive or maybe on another volume.  You need to make sure when you run the udpater to select the default FM app in your OS's application folder.  I run into this problem since I keep a Carbon Copy Clone of my OS on an attached external volume.  But I assure you when it updates, it will show the correct version. 

FYI, v5 is only needed if you're using Mac OS X 10.9 (Maverick), which is still in beta.  So you really only need it if you are a beta tester for the new Apple operating system. 

v5.jpg

• 2. Re: 12.0.5 update appears successful, but FMP is still at 12.0.4
            ozgobo

Hi Taylor,