2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 27, 2013 2:53 AM by ianmcarter

Restricting records in Layout

ianmcarter

I have backgorund in Oracle but I'm still learning about best way to go about things in FM.

I would like to restrict records viewed in FM layout.

I have a three tables

• Bank
      • BankTransaction
      • BookMaker

I have a copy of BankTransaction table called BMTransaction.

I have following relationships

BankTransaction>-----------Bank (FK_BankID - PK_BankID)

BMTransaction>--------------BookMaker (FK_BmID - PK_BmID)

To distinguish between the transaction types I have a type field called Type (BM=BMTransaction / BANK=BankTransaction).

I have two transaction layouts (one for each transaction type). When I'm in each layout I would only like to see transactions for the layout I'm in, so when in Bank Layout, I only want to see transactions where type = BANK and when in BM Transaction layout I want to see transactions where type = BM

• 1. Re: Restricting records in Layout
          LyndsayHowarth

I think you need only 2 tables:

Institution

Transaction

You might have several banks and several bookmakers... They can be in the same table... classified perhaps by type... Bank / Bookmaker perhaps or maybe BM / Bank.

Whatever you choose... the same value can be auto-input in the transactions table in some circumstances. (I would shed the bit that says XYZTransaction as when they are in a table called transaction)

You can have many relationships with a single table, including self-relationships. You could for eg. have a global field with calculated value of 'BM' and create another relationship instance called "BMTransaction" where the global is matched to the type field... then a layout which does not use the base table but rather that instance. You would have to repeat the exercise for the Bank.