3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 11, 2013 11:51 AM by beverly

Parsing Section-Township-Range

bawilliamson

I am working with a client to clean up records containing the legal descriptions of about 750 land parcels in 12 states. An example of the data I am starting with is "8-14N-17E", which describes three types of information about that land parcel: Section 8, Township 14N, and Range 17E. All three items contain either one or two digit numbers, plus the township and range always contain a single letter for the direction.

What I am tryiing to do is parse this data in a way that breaks it into five fields: Section, Township Number, Township Direction, Range Number, Range Direction. I am just getting started with understanding how to do this as easily as possible. I have thought of replacing the hypens with a space so that I can use the Left, Middle & Right functions, and then extract the directions after doing this.

I don't want to overcomplicate this. Any ideas? Thanks!

• 1. Re: Parsing Section-Township-Range
          beverly

step one: replace the "-" with return "char(13)" so that you can use the Value functions.

Otherwise, it seems like you know what to do!

Beverly

• 2. Re: Parsing Section-Township-Range
            bawilliamson

Beverly,

Thanks for your very quick reply! And also thanks for thinking I know what I am doing! I'm not a complete newbie, but there is SO much I have to learn. I am not sure what you mean about using the Value function in this situation. And how do I make sure the char(13) is placed; just by putting that term in the calculation formula?

Thanks again!

• 3. Re: Parsing Section-Township-Range
              beverly

you were going to "replace" the "-" with space, so I assumed that you knew about the Substitute() function. This can be used for the char(13), too:

Substitute ( myText ; "-" ; Char(13) )