6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 15, 2013 6:01 AM by wimdecorte

Help needed with export to fixed length txt file

bartprins

Hi there,

I'm new to Filemaker and am using FM 12 Pro, i'm making a database which i made a couple of years back in Acces with some Vbacode.

I want to export tables to textfiles with a fixed length, so no comma's or tabs. Is this possible and how can i do this?

The fields in the table are already the right length so for instance the field customerId is 7 characters and the field customerName is 5 characters then the export should be "1234567Prins" without quotation marks of course.

The only exports i can make are comma or tab delimited such as 1234567,Prins or 1234567 Prins

Could you please help me out and thanks for reading !

Bart Prins

The Netherlands

• 1. Re: Help needed with export to fixed length txt file
          Mike Duncan

It sounds like all you need is a calculation or auto enter field that concatenates all the required fields into one string, then just export that one field as tab delimited (no tabs will be exported since there's only one field) and save it with whatever name you like.

If you need to pad out the proper lengths for the fixed length fields, you can use something like this...

Right ( "          " & field1 ; 10 ) &

Right ( "          " & field2 ; 10 )

where field 1 and 2 are fixed length values of 10.

Does that work?

Mike

• 2. Re: Help needed with export to fixed length txt file
            RonSmithMD

Hi, Bart.

You'll need to make calculation fields that fix the length. These will be ghosts of the real field but will pad with spaces or whatever character that you want to force the necessary length.