5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 2, 2013 11:37 PM by keywords

Help with importing data

mhyman

Hello,

I am brand new to FM12, but experienced with databases in general.

I'm trying to import a flat file database, an excel spreadsheet, that has name and address type data into an existing database that has several tables representing that data. For instance the addresses got into a specific table, the phone numbers into a different table, etc.

I assume I need a script to do this, but I'm completely new, so I'm hoping someone can show me a script that pulls data from a spreadsheet or other flat file and imports the various elements into multiple related tables. Once I have an example, I think I can modify it to apply to my situation.

I hope someone has a minute to provide some help, I really want to move forward but I'm stuck.

Thanks in advance!!

• 1. Re: Help with importing data
          Stephen Huston

There are some sections of FMP12's built-in Help system which cover this.

However, the trick is you will need to be sure that your Excel file contains some field which can be used as the relationship keys for maintaining the links between records in different tables after the data has been imported into FMP12. That link ID field needs to be imported into each table during the data import process, either as the primary key (in the parent table), or as the foreign key in each child table to which you import.

• 2. Re: Help with importing data
            Stephen Huston

Also, set up each of your imports to the different tables as separate scripts so you can store the import field matching within the script, and then use a master/mother script to call each of the separate import scripts in turn. (If you try to put all of the import steps in one script, there is a high probability that the field matching won't hold up reliably.)

• 3. Re: Help with importing data
              lkeyes

Hi, mhyman,  A couple notes: