4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 13, 2013 7:26 AM by filemaker_newb

How to export specific records/rows within FM...?

filemaker_newb

Hi,

I realise this may be quite a basic question, but I am very new to Filemaker and realise this could be the solution to a number of issues...! I am using FM11.

I have data stored in a series of Excel files. I have a Master file, which includes all the records I have across all of the spreadsheets. I then have a series of separate spreadsheets, all of which include a different set of records which are included within the Master file.

I have created additional columns at the end of my Master file with VLOOKUP functions to identify which of the records in the Master file are included within the other spreadsheets.

What I would be looking to do is import this data I have collected in my Master file in FM - this is simple enough! I would then be looking to generate separate outputs for each of the different spreadsheets through FM - that's where I'm stuck...

So, for example, let's say I have 400 records in my Master file. I have created a separate column to identify which of these records are held in another spreadsheet. I have run a VLOOKUP function, which shows that 300 of these records are held in the Master file. The remaining 100 records are marked with #N/A. How would I then just export the 300 records from FM...?

I hope I have been clear enough, but let me know if I should clarify any further. What would be great is if I can get some guidance about running a script, that would allow me to output all of the spreadsheets in one go - I have about 30! Anyway, solving the first issue with just being to output one would be progress at the moment...

Any help on this would be much appreciated - thanks!

• 1. Re: How to export specific records/rows within FM...?
          steveromig

If I am understanding what you are trying to do correctly, you are importing a series of spreadsheets into one master FileMaker Pro file...correct?