5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 17, 2013 11:40 AM by kwinder

Importing Data and Inactive Records

kwinder

I am new to FM Pro so be patient...I am importing a monthly complete list of contacts in a csv file that can have new contacts and/or be missing contacts from the previous import. I don't want to delete any records from my FM database but would like to mark the existing records as inactive if they don't exist in the lastest import. Right now I am importing into a ContactImport table seperate from my normal Contacts Table as the data needs minor cleanup prior to moving into a couple of different tables. I am assuming this could be done in a script but not sure how this works given its an import, and also should I be importing into a ContactImport Table or into my main Contacts Table initially on import?

• 1. Re: Importing Data and Inactive Records
          kwinder

Looks like several folks have looked at this but no repsonses...Is it confusing?

• 2. Re: Importing Data and Inactive Records
            erolst

Your question had an uncanny similarity with a question in another forum; I thought you were somebody else … so to speak.

See if this post helps you; it describes a general approach to compare data sets and identify new and missing customers therein.

• 3. Re: Importing Data and Inactive Records

Hi Kwinder,

If I understand your requirement correctly, I think you can approach the task by using the fact that following any import, you will always be left with a found set of the imported records in the recipient table. That means you can use Show Omitted to see a found set of the reords that were not uppdated by the import. You can then mark these records as inactive using a Replace command in the appropriate field.