4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 17, 2013 11:21 AM by bobrace

A simple DB Setup question, I'm sure.  Please help

bobrace

I am new to Filemaker Pro (using 12), have some DB experience and I am trying to setup a DB that is relational so that I may pull (or lookup) in formation in one table of DB into another table or DB.  I want one database or table that will hold last_name, first_name and social_security_number which we'll call NAMES.  In the other table, which will call ACCOUNT_INFO, it will hold account information about a customer such as account numbers, tranaction ammounts, etc. What I need is to set it up so that when a user is in ACCOUNT_INFO, the user will type a person's social security number and it will pull the person's name associated with that social into the account_info screen.  I have tried to this, using a "portal" field in the ACCOUNTS_INFO, but cannot get it to work.  This sounds simple to me, but I just cannot get it to work properly.  Any help would be very much appreciated.  Thank you.

• 1. Re: A simple DB Setup question, I'm sure.  Please help
          Mike_Mitchell

Bob -

You'll need to set up a relationship between the social_security_number field in the NAMES table and the equivalent field in the ACCOUNT_INFO table. This is done on the Relationships tab in the Manage Database dialog (File > Manage > Database). Just drag and drop the field from one table occurrence to the other.

Once you've done that, you can define the fields you want as lookups under Options (lower right-hand corner of the Manage Database dialog).

As an aside, it's usually not necessary to perform lookups of information from one table to another. Except in unusual circumstances, you can use the related fields from the parent table directly on your layouts and in portals without having to copy it over. It's poor database practice to keep data in multiple places, so avoid it if you can.

HTH

Mike

• 2. Re: A simple DB Setup question, I'm sure.  Please help