10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 9, 2014 2:59 PM by erolst

Need help with sorting data into 5 groups evenly on a report.

mmrobinson

Version – Database hosted on Fm12 server - using FileMaker Pro Advanced 2012

I am self-taught on how to use the program and need some assistance setting up a script (or using an existing script) for the report I need to do.

Scenario – perform a find to get a set of users and their incoming hire date – I need to sort them by the date and separate them in to 5 different groups evenly. With group 1 containing those with the most tenure and group 5 containing those that are the newest. If an uneven number fill in from group 1 – 5. For example: 104 records – groups 1-4 contain 21 names and group 5 contains 20.

Report layout example:

Group 1 Group 2 Group 3 Group 4 Group 5

Fisher, S. Camp, D. Prather, M. Perkins, L. McCardle, P.

Wills, J. Scott, K. Milton, D. Richards, T. Jackson, M.

Robinson, D. Frost, J. Nimble, J.

Not sure if I could use an “If” statement, a “case” statement, or something completely different than these two options which would produce the report I need. This report, previously performed in foxpro, has been stumping me for the last 6 months. Have tried to find a corresponding issue in the forums and on the web, but have yet to find someone addressing this type of issue. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Thanks,

Marcie Robinson

• 1. Re: Need help with sorting data into 5 groups evenly on a report.
          erolst

See if this helps you. Make sure you understand the calculation used to determine the group number, so you can adapt it if necessary.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Need help with sorting data into 5 groups evenly on a report.
            mmrobinson