5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 14, 2014 11:12 AM by flybynight

Basic If Statement Question

elmoore

I'm new to writing if statements and need help with what I believe are two relatively simple questions. I'm trying to build a database that will track my students' GPAs (and other info) and would like the statement to go like this:

If an "A" is entered in the Grade field, then enter a 4 in the corresponding Grade Number field.

Also, if a box is checked (Asking if the student and parent addresses are the same), then copy data from the Student Address field into the Parent Address field automatically. If not, leave blank.

Thanks for your help!

Eric

• 1. Re: Basic If Statement Question
          beverly

Do research on Lookups (define fields) and auto-enter (define fields). These bits of data should be captured in time (like copy-paste without actually using the clip-board).

Set the Grade Number with an auto-enter based on a Case()

Case ( Grade = "A" ; 4 ;

Grade = "B" ; 3 ;

)

Set the student address field(s) to Lookup based on the parent/student relationship. You can type over these if the address is different.

Beverly

• 2. Re: Basic If Statement Question
            ninja

Howdy elmoore,

Just a note to point out that the "If" you asked about and the "Case" Beverly replied with are pretty much the same thing.

"Case" is basically a simple way to handle a 'multi-If' scenario like yours...

FWIW, I like Beverly's idea of the lookup, but I have tended to use a script launched by the check field (made the field a button) that simply SetField's the fields over.

In most cases, I would rather have the fields blank until I did something, rather than have a default value that might be wrong...this one is preference all the way.

HTH,

Eric

• 3. Re: Basic If Statement Question
              elmoore

Thanks Beverly,

The Case example worked perfectly, but didn't quite understand the lookups portion. Will do more research.

Thanks again,

Eric