4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 24, 2014 2:44 PM by keywords

Join table trouble

andrewviolet1

Im still new to filemaker and have been trying to do some training on relational databases. I thought I understood this but still struggling. Based on what im trying to do which I will outline below, I am hoping for some more feedback.

Scenario:

• I have an inventory table which keeps track of items, quantity, and price.
      • I have a sales table which I want to be able to keep track of sales that were made.
      • I have a join table to link these two table.

Goal:

• If i sell an item i would like it to update the inventory count.
      • When viewing sales I would like to use a portal to select items that were sold, and update the inventory

I have attached a screen shot of the relationships. This doesnt seem to work for me. I cant get a portal to work on my sales layout. It appears that the pk_ID_Sales in my sales table is creating a many to many relationship to the pk_ID_sales in my Sold_Items_Join table. when linking the inventory table to the join table it creates a one to many but the sales to join table creates a many to many. I dont understand why.

Thanks for any help!

-Andrew

Capture.PNGCapture.PNG

• 1. Re: Join table trouble
          mikebeargie

your join table primary key is relating to another primary key (sales), this is incorrect for a many-to-many relationship. See how the forks on each end of the line show many to many between those two tables?

If I were you, I'd recommend renaming your join table to "transactions" to make it easier.

Your portal would need to be "transactions", you can display "inventory" fields via a transactions table, but when you create new "transactions" from sales, they need to be in the join table.

Hope this helps a bit.

• 2. Re: Join table trouble
            andrewviolet1

Thanks for the reply,