4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 4, 2014 2:11 PM by plbcms

Tracking Mail Merge/Form Letters

plbcms

Hi All,

I am a FileMaker newbie, so mea culpa in advance if I am asking an obvious question.

I need to create a mail merge/form letter feature for a FMP database I am working on. Using merge-fields and text blocks on a layout dedicated to the purpose (and then pulling data from a separate accounts table), I have been able to accomplish the functionality I need BUT I am struggle to find a way to track which letter was sent to which person listed in the accounts table—the system has multiple letters that can be sent and each potential recipient can receive from 0-N of any number of the available letters. As the letters are (essentially) templates stored in layouts and not instance generated from a template and then stored in a corresponding table, make the association seems problematic. Can anyone make suggestions about how I can capture this information?

Thanks,
      Pete

• 1. Re: Tracking Mail Merge/Form Letters
          mikebeargie

As the letters are (essentially) templates stored in layouts and not instance generated from a template and then stored in a corresponding table, make the association seems problematic.

Looks like you answered your own question! Make the generation of the letters record based. Just create a simple "LettersSent" table that has a many-to-1 relationship to your accounts table. The new table doesn't even have to have anything to do with your template layouts, just use it as a "log".

I'd imagine you already have a button that takes you to one of the templates for the account record you are selecting from. Add the action of creating a new record in the new table as part of that button's script.

This will also help you save loads of other useful info, like the time it was created, who sent it, etc..

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Tracking Mail Merge/Form Letters
            plbcms