3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 5, 2014 1:36 PM by erolst

Starter Solution: Projects - Days Elapsed

timsea

Hello,

I'm just beginning with scripts and calculations, just purchased FMP Advanced, and had a script question and a referral question, please.

Question 1: I'm using the 'Projects' Starter Solution, and noticed that the 'Days Elapsed' uses the GetWorkDays function, where I'd like the elapsed days to include weekends. How could this be rewritten to include weekends? (this is the existing calculation from the Starter Solution)

Let (
      [
      today = Get ( CurrentDate ) ;
      no task = Count ( Tasks::TASK ID MATCH FIELD ) = 0 ;

yet = Start Date ≤ today
      and
      Due Date ≥ today ;

future = Start Date ≥ today
      and
      Due Date ≥ today ;

active days = GetWorkDays ( Start Date ; today ) ;
      completed days = GetWorkDays ( Start Date ; Due Date )
      ] ;

Case (
      no task ; 0 ;
      yet ; active days ;
      future ; 0 ;
      completed days
      )
      )

Question 2: What, in your opinion, is the BEST reference material (book, video, manual, etc.) for learning calculations, scripts, and how to use functions, for a beginner? Would appreciate your expert opinions, to focus on the best material.

Thank you, very much!

Tim

• 1. Re: Starter Solution: Projects - Days Elapsed
          erolst

timsea wrote:

How could this be rewritten to include weekends?

Replace

GetWorkDays ( Start Date ; today ) with today - Start Date

and

GetWorkDays ( Start Date ; Due Date ) with Due Date - Start Date

To find the number of (all) days between two dates, you don't need a CF; as you can see, in FM the method is as simple as laterDate - earlierDate.

As to reference material, I can recommend books from QUE, but I don't know if they have (yet) published a book on FM13.

• 2. Re: Starter Solution: Projects - Days Elapsed
            timsea

Thank you, very much, erolst!   That works perfectly!