4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 11, 2014 10:16 AM by BMyers

Auto Complete in Related Field Pop-Up Menu

BMyers

Hello, I'm new to FMP. I'm not a developer, but I've been using databases for a while and I understand the concepts pretty well. There is a workflow that I would expect in FMP but I cannot find how to do it.

Short description: In a layout, when a related field appears in a pop-up menu using a related-field value list, then FMP display the entire list in the pop-up menu. FMP allows the list to be sorted by the second field. What I need is to be able to type the text of what I want to find in the second field and have the list go to that portion of the alphabet.

Long description: Imagine a DB with two tables, Meeting and Project, with a one-to-many relationship (many Meetings for one Project). With the primary key and foreign key fields defined, the next step is to put the related field on my layout. Working from my Meetings layout, I define a related field specify that it will display the Project foreign key. In the Inspector, I choose a pop-up menu using a value list. I define the value list by the Project table primary key plus the Project table ProjectName field, as sorted on the ProjectName field.

So far so good, the field appears on the layout, and when I click on the field a list appears with the PK on the left and ProjectName on the right, and it is sorted by ProjectName. This would be great if I had only a few projects. Once that list gets very long I would like to be able to simply begin typing the name of the project and have the highlighted item skip down the list to the appropriate place, auto-complete style. How do I get the system to do this action? I have been through the Help pdf, the 1300 page User Guide, the FMP training series, and even the Lynda series looking for what I would think would be easy and standard. I must be missing something pretty obvious because I can't find it anywhere.