12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2016 1:03 AM by bigtom

FMP Powered Blog??

artmeakin

My apologies in advance if this is an inappropriate place to ask this question. I have googled and searched as many FMP solutions as I can the last couple of months off and on. I used to be a FMP Developer many years ago... late 80's early 90's. Getting back into the swing of things again. My question... is anyone or do you know of anyone or is it even possible to use FMP as the backbone or engine for a blog based site? If so I would very much like to pursue this venue if anyone is interested. Thanks.

• 1. Re: FMP Powered Blog??
          Mike_Mitchell

I do it on my site. PM me.

Mike

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: FMP Powered Blog??
            MarcDolley

I'd be interested in this too. We're being encouraged to set up a blog for our Neighbourhood Watch Group. Doing it in FileMaker would be so much easier.

Marc

• 3. Re: FMP Powered Blog??
              beverly

a 'blog' is typically:

1. a place to post articles with or without images and formatting.

• If you need these, you can create HTML from your database data and/or create in HTML editor and just put the HTML marked text into a field.

• these pages as HTML are best served as documents (it's what web servers do best), rather than push from database each time.

• you probably don't want to edit after the article is posted unless there are glaring errors. You can edit and "re-upload".

• images pushed from database are going to be much slower than from a directory on the web server (again, this is the best way that web servers work)

• formatting can be in the form of CSS (also on the web server), but could actually be a document ftp'd to the webserver from the db as changes are made as well [ CSS allows you to change "themes" easily without changing every single document]

• if you have links to documents (pdf, etc.) other than images, these too are best served from directory on the web server.