10 Replies Latest reply on Feb 23, 2014 10:15 AM by davidsan

Why have Bonjour with DNS?

webhog

I'm running FileMaker Server 13 on a Windows 2008 R2 server. The server name is in our DNS and every user just puts the server name in the Open Remote / Favorite Hosts. Everything works this way. I don't have to give the users an IP address and it's one less service I need to have running on the server. (That's why I'm posting this here. Performance).

So if I can't find a reason to have Bonjour installed on the server how do I get rid of the "Error The Bonjour service is either not installed or not running" message?

Thanks,

WH

• 1. Re: Why have Bonjour with DNS?
          PeterWindle

Ok, I'm not an expert, but here's the thing that I've experienced:

Don't rely on DNS, always use IP addresses..

why?

Example:

An organisation I have done work for had local DNS and when editing scripts etc, there where referenced files located on the server. Easy peasy, choose the server file in the Open Remote dialogue box and away you go.

But in true Microsoft fashion, the DNS failed. Result: The domain name was resolved by an EXTERNAL DNS. Opening the referenced file took AGES to open.

Not fun.

Bonjour is a different kettle of fish, as far as I know, it only works on local networks and broadcasts names of devices (a bit like AppleTalk used to in the bad old days), not sure why it's required by the server though?

Like I said, I'm no expert, so please, anyone out there correct me if I am wrong, it's been some time since I've been in the Apple scene.

• 2. Re: Why have Bonjour with DNS?
            wimdecorte

PeterWindle wrote:

Ok, I'm not an expert, but here's the thing that I've experienced:

Don't rely on DNS, always use IP addresses..