10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 4, 2014 9:38 AM by Draco

New to Filemaker - Looking for answers...

danjns

Hi guys,

I'm new to filemaker just need to know if it's a platform I should invest in.

I need to know upper usage limits - maximum number of connections to webdirect (can you cluster filemaker servers with load balancing etc).

Also one big stumbling block I've noticed in my very short time working with the platform is that I can seem to add more than one file into a container (as in a client might need to add 1 photo or 100000 and I want them to be able to...)

Thanks,

Dan

• 1. Re: New to Filemaker - Looking for answers...
          mikebeargie

You need to make a related table of container data to your parent record if you want to add multiple files to a record, that's pretty much standard DB normalization (not a FileMaker limitation).

As for webdirect, it highly depends on your solution how WD performs and what server hardware you need. What kind of user load are you expecting? I would recommend against running any more than 50 simultaneous connections, even though there is a theoretical "unlimited" connection pack for more. You'll also need robust hardware to process WD for a lot of users.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: New to Filemaker - Looking for answers...
            Mike_Mitchell

I'll echo MIke's advice. WebDirect is not intended for a large number of users or a high-demand environment. If you need more than a relatively small number of users, consider purchasing FileMaker licenses (or, depending on the solution, perhaps using iPads and FileMaker Go).

And no, you cannot cluster FileMaker servers with load balancing. The technology doesn't work that way. Optimization will primarily be (a) hard disk speed; (b) CPU speed; (c) solution design (optimizing for network efficiency and proper normalization); (d) network performance.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            • 3. Re: New to Filemaker - Looking for answers...