1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Mar 8, 2014 5:19 AM by LyndsayHowarth

filemaker & carplay

maedel

hello

i am a newbie...

i wonder how implementing filemaker dbs&apps will be handled!?

any ideas?

thank you very much

Matthias

• 1. Re: filemaker & carplay
          mikebeargie

Not sure what your question is.

Are you referring to using FMGo via the new carplay system that apple has developed?

FileMaker has not announced any plan to integrate FMGo with this iOS feature. And I highly doubt that they will, as I see absolutely no reason you should try to be using a database application while driving. What were you envisioning?

FMGo itself should be compatible with any native iOS functions, (IE "Siri - launch filemaker go 13 for iphone" ), which may carry over into compatibility with carplay.

• 2. Re: filemaker & carplay
            maedel

Hello Mike

Thank you for replying.

I am envisioning multiple ideas e.g. a cab(taxi)-accounting and management system, car-pool/share management -not with a ferrari ;-) - traffic assisting system (locally)... these are all server based services...

also i am thinking of an API to the Original in car systems...

also some special ideas in mind...

How about you?

Are you inspired?!

Many greets from Austria.

Matthias

• 3. Re: filemaker & carplay
              mikebeargie

As someone who is regularly angry for seeing other "distracted" drivers on their phones here in the USA, I'm not very inspired by this.

Good to hear your ideas though, those are pretty valid, although I think a lot of them would still be fairly reliant on touchscreen activity.

• 4. Re: filemaker & carplay
                hbrendel

Of course you make a solution specially for CarPlay. Functionality adapted to a driving person.

BTW: The person next to the driver can also play with CarPlay...

"Distracted drivers"... I think they do that themselves, it's cannot be my database.

• 5. Re: filemaker & carplay
                  beverly