1 2 Previous Next 29 Replies Latest reply on Mar 16, 2014 3:21 PM by nickorr

Storing Application or User Settings

rmittelman

I am a longtime Windows developer, using VB, VB.Net, C#, etc. and am making the (sometimes) painful transition to FMP. In a Windows-based application, I would either save settings in an INI file (old days) or an XML file (newer days) or in .Net in one of the provided settings areas.

Now, I'm looking for guidance on how this should be done in FMP. A given solution may be for Windows, or Mac or GO for that matter.

In my past experience, it seemed more reasonable to have an external file that the application would read during startup.

A simple example of an application setting would be the location of the folder where documents are created by FMP, such as when a user chooses to save a report as a PDF.

Can somebody suggest best practice for storing application settings in FMP?

Thanks...

• 1. Re: Storing Application or User Settings
          RonSmithMD

Make the settings a table in the database.

From the iPhone of Ron Smith

• 2. Re: Storing Application or User Settings
            mark_b

Like Ron said, create a Settings table with fields that contain all the info you want.  Then create a Startup script that goes to that table and loads the various fields into global variables ($$) that can be referenced throughout your application in other scripts - such as send a pdf to $$pdfFolder.  With the Settings file, you can even add a UserID key field so that settings could be specific per user.  Hope this helps.

Cheers, Mark

I am familiar with the frustrations of learning Filemaker when coming from another environment.  I now love it, where at first I hated it because it was so different and my productivity went down the drain.

• 3. Re: Storing Application or User Settings
              wimdecorte