5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 13, 2014 10:56 PM by BMyers

What do you know now that you wish you knew then?

BMyers

I am new to FileMaker, climbing the learning curve. I‘m not a pro, but I have some experience in databases and am building a new app to manage my projects, contacts, tasks, notes and documents in a business setting. Fairly standard stuff to all of you.

Occasionally I have one of those ”doh” moments where I realize that something could have been so much easier if I had only known...

It struck me that all of you pros have probably done the same thing. I thought it would make an interesting discussion thread. What do you know now that you wish you knew when you were starting with FMP? Is there a function, a technique, a trick, some great training materials?

Or to put it another way, if you knew you were going to have amnesia tomorrow and had to start learning FMP again, what advice would you email to yourself today?

• 1. Re: What do you know now that you wish you knew then?
          robwoof

A few things leap out at me often as I maintain a system built by a smart guy who didn't really know FileMaker:

1. There are often a number of ways to accomplish a given desired action, but the most obvious way is not always the best. Typical example: getting a value from one place to another in a script. The obvious way is Copy/Paste, but that puts you at the mercy of the user switching applications and copying something else. Instead, look at Set Variable (to capture the desired value) and Set Field (to get the value into the desired place).
          2. In Calculations, a nested If statement is murder to set up and debug. Instead, have a look at the Case calculation (it's similar in concept to the Select Case in Excel macros, but quite  different in syntax, so watch that one). If you can get your head around Case, the quality of your code will jump dramatically.