6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 9, 2014 9:24 PM by isamudysan

help with relationship and calculations

isamudysan

this is my first try at FM. i'm very new to the relationship concept (although i have watched some VTC vids on it a few times), calculations,

and scripting. scripting questions will have to come later. for now, though, i'm in a dire need to solve a problem that i have regarding a

solution that i have created. please bare with me while i explain what's going on here.

i have 2 tables -- one is called "data_capture" and the other is called "failcodes." the data capture table has 7 fields, 6 of which are used to enter

the failcodes. the 7th (called judgement) is an auto-enter (browse mode checked off in inspector) that will auto-enter the judgment of the

first 2 failcodes.

generically, data_capture table looks like this:

visual test (drop-down list, and the value list is failcode::failcode)

functional test 1 (drop-down list, and the value list is failcode::failcode)

functional test 2 (drop-down list, and the value list is failcode::failcode)

functional test 3 (drop-down list, and the value list is failcode::failcode)

functional test 4 (drop-down list, and the value list is failcode::failcode)

functional test 5 (drop-down list, and the value list is failcode::failcode)

judgment (displayed data from failcodes::judgment, edit box)

as stated above, the 2 most important fields for the judgement field are the visual test field, and functional test 1 as their info is critical and cannot

be left blank. an exception to this rule is when 1 of 2 ultimate failcodes are entered into the visual test field, thus the user will enter no failcode into the functional test 1 field.

now, table 2, titled failcodes, has all the failcodes and their respected judgment. there are 3 judgments, let's called them DEF1, DEF2, and DEF3. for example, a failcode of M013 has a judgment of DEF1.

in total, there are 45 or so failcodes. so, in failcodes table, i have 3 fields: