1 2 Previous Next 22 Replies Latest reply on Feb 19, 2017 1:49 AM by arjen.evertse

import images into container field in database table

glenncogar

Hi, I am new to FM and I am trying to set up a new database solution to hold details of products I sell.

I have images of each of the products and I have created a container field in the products table in the database.

I know I can drag and drop the images into the relevant container fields for each product but I have 100's of products and I am looking for a way I can bulk update the relevant products with the product image from a folder on my Mac. I can match the product images to the relevant product records using the value of a text field I already have stored in the database i.e. value of field = xxx image file for that product = xxx.jpg

I was hoping I could do the updates with an import but I cant find a way of importing images to container fields.

Maybe I need a script to do this?

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: import images into container field in database table
          mikebeargie

If all the images are in a specific location, then yes, you can script a loop to "Insert Picture" for each file into your records.

Say for instance you had all the files in your documents folder ( inside /products as a subfolder), and you have a products table with a field called "productCode" that corresponds to the image name. Also, your "image" field in your products table, and all of your images in the folder with a .jpg extension.

Your script would look something like this:

Go To Record/Request [first]

Loop

Set Variable [ $path ; Get(DocumentPath) & "/products/" & products::productCode & ".jpg" ]

Insert Picture [ products::image ; $path ]

Go To Record/Request [next ; exit after last ]

End Loop

You could even expand on this to get some error checking built in, so you can store a list of missing images to a "log" field in your table:

Go To Record/Request [first]

Loop