8 Replies Latest reply on May 9, 2014 3:11 AM by errem01

Scripting language English

errem01

Hi,

I have a dutch version of FM13. But the scripting (apart from if,case and some other stuff) is also dutch.

Most books and info on FM is in English and so are most of the posts here.

I have been a programmer in the past and i don't like 'languages' that change according to the country you're in (and then i mean the programming language...)

So, anyhow, is it possible to use English scripting in a non-english version of FM?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Scripting language English
          erolst

You can use English keywords and function names in your calculations, and even mix them with the localized terms; the caveat is that when you next open the calculation, all English terms will all be localized (if a localized term exists),  

If you're on OS X, you can achieve a more permanent solution by 'hiding' the folder containing the Dutch language resources, which will force FM to use the next best match as per the language settings in your System Preferences (which then should be English …).

Close the FileMaker application. Navigate to the application in the Finder, use rightclick and “Show Package Contents”, navigate to Contents:Resources where you find the language folders. Create a sub-folder and put Dutch.lproj inside (or simply rename it). Restart the FileMaker application.

Alternatively, set your main system language to English (which of course would affect all applications).

Until some OS X versions ago, you could do the same thing with a simple switch in the Information dialog; but Apple giveth, and Apple taketh away …

I imagine Windows allows a similar approach.

Keep in mind that most 'real' programming languages are for 'serious' programmers (not to say nerds and geeks …), while FMI tries to make its product user-friendly for a wider audience.