I can add a little bit of the answer.
1. In recent versions of FMS, any file that is removed from FMS is automatically, silently, copied into the Removed_by_FMS folder.
2. If you use 'versioning' eg _9736 and _9741, these will be treated as separate files and will therefore accumulate in the Removed_by_FMS folder.
It is therefore now part of my 'server housekeeping' to periodically check if there's content in the Removed_by_FMS folder that should be finally, purposefully trashed. Nothing eg FMS needs to be stopped, you just need access to the folder (which may not be a default setting if you're in an IT-administered environment).
I understand what you say and have another server configured identically. The temporary logs are correctly being deleted.
I can fathom that the logs might not be deleted correctly for some reason, but what concerns me is that the error reports that progressive backups have been disabled.
When I check, the admin panel shows it enabled.
So then I think this needs maybe a Steve Romig response. Is the error message correct that the progressive backup IS disabled and the admin interface lying to me?
Just clarifying: this is nothing to do with "logs" - it's the files themselves that get copied. So if it's a 1 Gb versioned file, each 'version' gets copied into the Removed_by_FMS folder.
Re 'progressive backups' settings - yes please to a Steve Romig or Wim response :-)
Please look closely at the errors in my original post that clearly say the problem is with the backup 'log' which doesn't give me confidence that it is the data file, but rather that the log of transactions is not readable and recordable into the incremental backup.
This is worrisome because it makes me concerned there could be 'holes' in the backup due to these.
I read your comment,
"It seems that somehow there are a couple of files that don't get trashed properly:
in a folder called Removed_by_FMS."
Thus my suggestion that the log might be meaning to say that you're running out of disk space on your FMS install. This potentially can happen fairly easily if your Removed_by_FMS folder gets clogged with a lot of files. They do accumulate, unless you manually clear them.
That was my first thought, but the progressive backup is on a second hard drive with over 200 gB free!
Still it might be worth running Disk Utility to check for damage.
I think they are both partially right.
There should always be two sets of progressive backup folders/files. If one of them is corrupted and cannot be deleted then the system moves it out of the way and ‘disables’ it. So I guess you could say the Progressive Backup was disabled.
However, the Progressive Backup function wants to be running. So it creates a new backup folder to start a new Progressive Backup set of files.
Its probably more accurate to say 1/2 of the Progressive backup was disabled, and was then recreated.