3 Replies Latest reply on May 22, 2014 10:27 AM by c0nsilience

Table Vs. Field help needed -  Best Practice

c0nsilience

Hello All,

I've got a simple question for you experienced developers. If one is building, for example, an Asset Database, is it more beneficial to place the assets in their own table (i.e., the HVAC table illustrated in the attached screenshot), whereas every asset category has it's own table or is it a better practice to keep the categories as a field in a main asset table? I'm relatively new to FileMaker, but I've usually done the latter.

Any insight would be most appreciated!

Thanks!

Screen Shot 2014-05-21 at 4.58.06 PM.png

• 1. Re: Table Vs. Field help needed -  Best Practice
          ch0c0halic

FMP tables should be treated like any other DB structure designed using an Entity - attribute design philosophy. It depends on the Entity Relationship diagram. I recommend creating your Entity relationship diagram before creating the DB.

For example:

An Asset "Air conditioner” may be an Entity with HVAC is an attribute.

Or a Building may be an Entity with “Air Conditioner” is an Attribute.

But, most likely both the Building and the Air Conditioner are Entities of the Asset Table. Then I’d use a join table to make the Air Conditioner a part of the Building. Using a Bill-of-Material (BOM) structure.

• 2. Re: Table Vs. Field help needed -  Best Practice
            beverly

Excellent analogy, JJ!

The old-tried-and-true idea to which more people can relate: Cheeseburgers. Especially if you have it your way.