5 Replies Latest reply on May 27, 2014 10:00 PM by robwoof

if then statements controlling an image in a container

bbringardner

I am interested in controlling an image in a container with an If Statement, but am having trouble figuring out how to do it.

My use case is that I would like a status field to control the icon displayed. So if the status field is "New", "Submitted", "Rejected", etc then a certain image would diplay for that record.

I am new to FMP and am running File Maker 12, and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Ben

• 1. Re: if then statements controlling an image in a container
          robwoof

Hi Ben,

Welcome to the FIleMaker world!

To have a Container controlled by the content of another field, the Container needs to be a Calculation field with result type "Container" (in the Specify Calculation dialog that opens when you create a Calculation field, on the bottom-left there is a "Calculation Result is:" drop-down menu - choose "Container").

The you need to have the various different images stored in container field(s) somewhere else. This is one situation where a Repeating Container field might be useful: create a Container field with one repetition for each different status image. Your calculation might then look something like:

StatusImage =

Case ( StatusField = "New" ;

GetRepetition ( StatusImages ; 1 ) ;

StatusField = "Submitted" ;

GetRepetition ( StatusImages ; 2 ) ;

StatusField = "Rejected" ;

GetRepetition ( StatusImages ; 3 ) ;

GetRepetition ( StatusImages ; 4) )

In this example the StatusImages field would need to be in the same table, and it would need to be a Global field as well. Setting a field as Global and/or Repeating is done on the Storage tab in field options.