6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 7, 2014 12:24 PM by Stephen Huston

FileMaker Pro 3

digidana

Yep, version 3. I've been using it for probably about 18 years. I use it for invoicing for my small business. I have one file with all my customer info including a Customer ID, another file with every order I've done in 18 years (almost 16,000 entries) and includes an Order ID, then aother file that is the invoice where i enter the customer ID and the order ID and it brings it all together.

i recently got a windowws 7 laptop and i can't get my good ole FMP 3 to install. It says it won't install because W7 is 64 bit.

I've tried changing the compatibility on the installation disk to XP and i've run the compatibility troubleshooter but it doesn't work.

Can you think of a way that I get can it to run on the new computer? I really don't want to upgrade if I don't have to. I'm afraid that the program is so different now that I won't even recognize it anymore and would have to learn it all over again.

• 1. Re: FileMaker Pro 3
          Mike_Mitchell

One thing you could try, if you have your heart set on the "old" environment, is to find a copy of version 6. It's still the one-file-per-table paradigm that version 3 was (albeit with a file format upgrade required). However, it will run on Windows 7. Might get you up and running.

I would still recommend, nevertheless, that you take a stab at upgrading to the current release. Version 6 (much moreso version 3) is very old technology. It's simply not up to snuff by today's security or stability standards, and you'll benefit greatly from learning the new technology. Brains like exercise too.    

HTH

Mike

• 2. Re: FileMaker Pro 3
            TomHays

You could try running a virtual environment (like VMWare Workstation) that runs an earlier version of Windows (e.g. Window XP).

Do you know what is the most recent version of Windows that will be compatible with FileMaker Pro v3?

-Tom

• 3. Re: FileMaker Pro 3
              digidana