1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Jun 7, 2017 4:34 AM by fmpdude

ExecuteSQL & date ranges

DavidZakary

ExecuteSQL newbie here.

Trying to get a count of records that occur between two dates.

The start and end dates reside in global fields in a different table from the data being queried.

The ExectuteSQL statement works fine without the date range. As soon as I put the range in it failes.

My ExecuteSQL statement is as follows:

SELECT count (*) FROM Usage2 WHERE Usage2::Usage_Date BETWEEN decay3::g_date_start AND decay3::g_date_end

Any pointers?

• 1. Re: ExecuteSQL & date ranges
          coherentkris

ExecuteSQL ( "SELECT count (*) FROM Usage2 WHERE Usage_Date BETWEEN ? AND ?" ; "" ; "" ; decay3::g_date_start ; decay3::g_date_end )

might work but is not tested by me.

This should tell ExecuteSQL to use the globals as parameters in the query.

You might also have cast the date fields as DATE() data type in SQL to get them to match.

• 2. Re: ExecuteSQL & date ranges
            wimdecorte

SQL expects the dates in a certain format so it is better that you feed the dates in as parameters and let FM take care of the proper formating and quoting

There have also been reports that using normal operators instead of BETWEEN works better

also you can not use FM field references (with ::)

ExecuteSQL(

"SELECT count (*) FROM Usage2 WHERE Usage_Date >= ? AND Usage_Date <= ?" ; decay3::g_date_start ; decay3::g_date_end

)

• 3. Re: ExecuteSQL & date ranges
              DavidZakary

Getting closer. Wim's example is returning a zero. Better than the previous "?".

Gotta learn more SQL.

Thanks all

• 4. Re: ExecuteSQL & date ranges
                beverly

1. NEVER use COUNT(*) - what are you counting? It can take longer for all fields instead of one. And if you need another column, you need to be explicit, so you can list non-aggregate columns/fields in a GROUP BY clause.