11 Replies Latest reply on Jun 22, 2017 2:17 PM by coherentkris

Developer Collaboration

thehammer

Honestly, I'm new in the FileMaker development world. I've admired the platform from the sideline for some time. I now have the change to build a FM dev team. What is the best way to collaborate on the actual development of a FM app? Is it simply a source code check-out system? Or are there some built in tools that allow for some collaboration amongth developers?

I'm looking for some best practices here if anyone is willing to give them.

Thanks,

John Paul

• 1. Re: Developer Collaboration
          mikebeargie

There is no "simple source code check-out system" for filemaker. Subversioning has been long debated in a community, and there's been no real "great" solution for it. That's really a separate discussion that you can google and read through.

I'm a big fan of "live side / test side" development. Basically having a script that you can run to import data from a "live" file and deploy an update. This way you can do your development on a quarantined hosted file, with any number of developers, without jeopardizing your live file/data. Making a clone of the file when you deploy the update then becomes your new "development" copy (data refreshed in your development environment).

In terms of "code", there's really only the calculation engine, layouts, and scripting at the core of FM development. All three can be commented ( using // preceding a comment in the calc engine, the comment script step, and the blank area off to the side in layout mode), so I suggest that you utilize comments to track changes.

I think the MOST IMPORTANT thing you can do in multi-developer teams is have a solid means to assign tasks and track tasks. PROJECT MANAGEMENT. If you invest in anything, invest in this. There are numerous tools (IE basecamp) to help you task track effectively. Choose a solid thing to implement, and try to adhere to it as much as you can.