10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2014 2:02 AM by makerbert

multi column primary key possible in FM?

makerbert

Hello, I'm quite new to filemaker but been fiddling with databases for 10+ years.

I have to set up a database in filemaker. First table holds four (4) unique department names. Second table holds several thousands of subdepartment codes. subdepartment codes are not unique, but the combination departmentname-subdepartmentcode is unique.

using Oracle I would create a one to many relation from the department table to the subdepartment table en a compound primary key consisting of the fk_departmentname and the subdepartmentname. Is something like that (primary key from two columns) possible in FileMaker or am i thinking in the wrong direction?

Any views are welcome.

Bert

• 1. Re: multi column primary key possible in FM?
          jormond

Kind of. You could concatenate the field to create the primary key.

However, you could instead use FileMaker's UUID function. It gives you a Base 16 random unique id. In practice, I've found it often better to have IDs that have no meaning. It doesn't take up much room in the database, and you can easily, in the future and if needed, change department or sub-department names without having to worry about breaking the relationship.

• 2. Re: multi column primary key possible in FM?
            erolst

Joshua Ormond wrote:

Kind of. You could concatenate the field to create the primary key.

Multi-predicate relationship?

• 3. Re: multi column primary key possible in FM?
              jormond

That would give you a slightly different behavior. At least the way I'm familiar with the terms.

1. concatenate:

firstName: John

lastName: Doe

zip: 15551

key = JohnDoe15551

2. multi-predicate relationship:

firstName: John

lastName: Doe

zip: 15551

multi-predicate key = John¶Doe¶15551

#1 would match the current record to any records in the related table where the match field is "JohnDoe15551"