6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 6, 2014 6:09 PM by arnojansen1

Price query

arnojansen1

hihi I am a filemaker pro 13 user on mac. I have a simple database and need some help to create a calculation or find procedure.

My database is one hotel has many rooms, and rooms have many seasonal prices. So what i am looking for is can I find a price in a certain season/ date range and if the date starts in one date range how can i assure the routine finds 3days in one range and shows me 1day in the next for instance

my database looks a bit like this, hotel-A, has Lakeview room, 1Jan2014 to 30Jun2014 the price is 200 dollar and 1July to 31Dec2014 the price is 220

the fields are room-id, start date, end date, price

with a relation to hotel, and lakeview room tables

now if somebody wants to book a room from 29Jun2014 to 2July,

the calculation is total 3 nights = (2nights * 200) + (1 * 220)

as you can imagine the date range will be extended every year as new prices come in so the calculation I am looking for needs to take care of that too. The date range can be 4 or 5 per annum covering for more expensive periods in the year etc. So not just 2 because i could potentially use an if or nested if function. I have a hotel that gave me a range of 6 date ranges already

Thanks for your help!

cheers

Arno

• 1. Re: Price query
          erolst

See if this thread

https://fmdev.filemaker.com/message/150038

can help you.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Price query
            arnojansen1

how nice is that, I will have a look at this and the example files provide. looks like this could solve my problem. Thanks so much for your quick respond and help. Cheers

• 3. Re: Price query
              arnojansen1

Thanks again for your help here, I am working on the script to match my fields and try to use it in a portal.

Cheers

Arno

• 4. Re: Price query
                arnojansen1

Hi Erolst,

your answer was very helpful and the script works in my database.