4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2014 4:51 PM by taylorsharpe

Serial numbers

davialan

In my Contacts table i have a ContactsID field specified as a serial field.

If I add a record it increases the contactID by 1 as expected.

If I now delete the record and add another record the contactID increases by 2

Can this be avioded ?

Please note I am a novice

• 1. Re: Serial numbers
          erolst

davialan wrote:

If I now delete the record and add another record the contactID increases by 2

And this is a problem because …?

• 2. Re: Serial numbers

Why should it be avoided?

In fact, it does not increase by 2, it takes the next higher number, regardless whether you have deleted any records in between.

It looks like you use the field “ContactsID” as a key field.

If this is the case please read <fmdiff.com/fm/serialnumber.html>

Winfried

• 3. Re: Serial numbers
              keywords

It is not actually increasing the serial by 2, it is simply setting the serial to the next one in its sequence but obviously skipping the one already allocated to the record you deleted. To reset the sequence so as to reallocate the one you deleted, you would have to go into the field definition for the serial number field, click on Options… at bottom right and reset the serial number. Depending on the actual circumstance you face and what your rewuirements are you could also reset the serial for the entire file using Records > Replace Field Contents; this has the option to Update the serial number Entry Option to make sure the next record created will continue the sequence. But of course you wouldn't use the replace option if the serial number is meant to be a unique identifier as that action would mess up relationships depending on that field. And this raises a question: if the purpose of the serial is to be a unique identifier then gaps created by deleted records don't matter, do they?

• 4. Re: Serial numbers
                taylorsharpe