11 Replies Latest reply on Aug 14, 2014 10:59 AM by joyce

Setting up login passwords that expire

joyce

Recently our agency had an audit on the functions of our FM database. Although entering the database requires a login password to access it by the user, the password does expired after so many days (60) or require a specific number of characters or exclude the availability for the same password to be reused.

Has any one written or know of a written script that could be used to meet the requirement of a users password prompting for change after maybe 55 days and expiring after 60; the password that was used cannot be used for ten (10) consecutive uses and has to be at least eight (8) characters?

This is my first post. I am a novice developer so be kind, please. Thanks for any help anyone can provide.

Joyce

• 1. Re: Setting up login passwords that expire
          Stephen Huston

As far as the requirement to change PW every 60 days, and to set the minimum length to 8 characters or more, those are built into FileMaker's Manage Security settings under the definition of the permission group. (see attached screenshot of the settings screen)

You can script to process separately for changing passwords to include tests for length, contained characters, etc., but tracking past passwords for comparison within the FM tables directly would actually be a serious weakening of FM's security, as those passwords could be exposed in various ways that live passwords cannot in FM.

• 2. Re: Setting up login passwords that expire
            sicosys

Hi There!!

Are you talking about a user name and password database (as part of your database)  to grant acces to diferent areas of your application?

Or you are taking about the FM security  Stephen talked about?

Felipe

• 3. Re: Setting up login passwords that expire
              Mike_Mitchell